Jobs for English teachers?

Anyone already in Bulgaria who is ready, willing and able to help those coming over? Job vacancies? Employment advice and information? Post it here!

Moderator: Moderator

filip_expat

Jobs for English teachers?

Postby filip_expat » Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:02 pm

Hi there

Not sure if I'm posting in the right place but I found no thread related to teaching English at all.

My name is Filip and I'm Polish. Have spent a big chunk of my life moving all across the world. I lived in most countries of Europe, making ends meet through English teaching. When I got bored, I simply left.
Now. Bulgaria has never been on my map. I was there last year though for vacation and met a wonderful girl. So I decided - "why not?!"

I'm now considering moving to Sofia. No matter what country I moved to, I was providing English mentoring (non-native) and it let me make ends meet. It's my job, anyways - I'm an English teacher by profession.

Now. Just a few things I'd like to know about.
1. Living costs. Can anybody suggest some resources where I can learn more about the living costs? Basically, I always have some work on my hands (being a freelance translator) but I don't believe this would be enough.
2. How much would I make as an ESL teacher in Sofia? Is there any demand for private lessons provided by non-native tutors?
3. Can anybody suggest any language schools in Bulgaria? Are they hiring?
4. Last but not least - would I survive in Sofia speaking English/Russian/German only? Apparently, Bulgarian seems to be a bit similar to Russian or my native Polish. And my girlfriend wouldn't always be there with me to lend a helping hand - she's got a day job in Sofia so I'd spend the better part of the day on my own.

Thanks for your answers!

regards
Filip

FlagHostel

Postby FlagHostel » Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:09 pm

hi filip,

if you are polish you are wasting your time in sofia

you are not a native speaker so you will earn s h i t money like bulgarian's