SAT DISH SIZES FOR UK TV IN BULGARIA

Will it or won't it work in Bulgaria? Which is the best option?

Moderator: Moderator

Ford-Prefect

Satellite TV

Postby Ford-Prefect » Thu Dec 03, 2009 12:43 pm

Hey many thanks for the information Pauline, I am very grateful. :D Maybe I will leave my 90cm in the UK and just bring the receiver.

At the moment, I use it to tune into some of the FTA channels and I don't subscribe to any subscription channels.

I can pick up all the BBC and ITV channels with excellent reception in the UK. Sirius is a little on the pixalated side occasionally but is still good when it does work.

Next time I am out in BG I'll do a bit of research. Its strange you can't get ITV.

Best,

Mark.

User avatar
Moscow_Wolf
Mega User!
Mega User!
Posts: 4532
Location: Near Karnobat

Re: Satellite TV

Postby Moscow_Wolf » Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:02 pm

Ford-Prefect wrote:Hey many thanks for the information Pauline, I am very grateful. :D Maybe I will leave my 90cm in the UK and just bring the receiver.

At the moment, I use it to tune into some of the FTA channels and I don't subscribe to any subscription channels.

I can pick up all the BBC and ITV channels with excellent reception in the UK. Sirius is a little on the pixalated side occasionally but is still good when it does work.

Next time I am out in BG I'll do a bit of research. Its strange you can't get ITV.

Best,

Mark.


It all boils down to what is transmitted on Astra 28D and Astra 28E and the relevant footprints. You could get BBC and ITV if you went for something like a 4 metre dish, but for most of us, that is not a viable option. The whole UK TV picture is opening up for us Expats with FreeSat from SKY Freeview from the Terrestrial providers plus, a Slingbox or Dreambox set-up via your computer.

Just make sure that any cards you bring out from the UK have been set-up there beforehand and are matched to the receiver you wish to use as this makes life a lot easier than trying to do it here.

I think it could be useful if we had a thread whereby 'members' could explain their locations in BG and their set-ups etc. for comparison. You should get something with a 90cm dish, but I'd go as big as you can within reason. I was getting everything except ITV, BBC and Channel 4 as far East as Moscow with a 1.8 metre dish and I could just get some ITV via the manual added channels option. You should not have a problem with the Ukrainian channels and even Russian, some of which, I think can be obtained on the Bulgarian BULSAT, but please check that one before signing up.

User avatar
mansell
<b>Property Sales</B>
Posts: 59
Location: karnobat Burgas
Contact:

dish size

Postby mansell » Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:44 pm

Hello


I would suggest that if you have a bulgarian dish installed then go for a 1.5 mt or if you have an off set dish installed you only need a 1.2 mt dish. You will not be able to receive the bbc channels but will be able to get itv channel 4 and 5 via the add channels buttons. If you do opt for a smaller dish size say 1mt nearly all the channels can be received but you will find that some will break up and fade away in the evenings and early mornings.



hope this helps

Mansell

User avatar
gordonroy43
Super User!
Super User!
Posts: 390
Location: WEST MIDLANDS
Contact:

Hi

Postby gordonroy43 » Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:53 pm

Hi,

Brain picking on DISHES there gain size ect.

Can anyone say if having TWO or THREE 600MM dishes pointing at the same SAT and then feeding them all into one feed would this be the same more or less as a 1200 mm or 1800mm single dish.

The reason why is a very large dish on an apartment looks silly but smaller ones would look less so.

Awaiting the ones with sat working no how.

Thanks

User avatar
theweeton
Mega User!
Mega User!
Posts: 2023
Location: near Rousse

Postby theweeton » Thu Jan 14, 2010 8:53 am

I know that Yagi antennas ( the old teristerial tv type antennas) can be stacked and the dimensions and formulas for separation distance can be readily found on the internet.
It is possible to improve your receive signals by stacking satalitte dishes but as to the formulas i have no idea, I asked this question several years ago on another site and got no reply, it is not something I have actively pursued.

I have never seen this type of array used commercially ir domestically but it is used for scientific purposed and mabe there are some military applications.

User avatar
BJ
<b>Property Sales</B>
Posts: 203
Location: UK/Sofia

Postby BJ » Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:55 am

Connecting multiple sat dishes together will not work for the purpose of improving the signal strength. Another poster has also said the same. Vlas is very much at the fringe of the Astra sat footpint. Go to astra.com and you can see for yourself. To have any chance getting UK channels via sat (and in addition to the right decoder etc) you require a 3.5 meter dish. These cannot be transported by road as a one piece unit due to size Al large satellite dishes come in the form of several petals (like a flower petal) for assembly on site. They are big and heavy.

Cost upwards of £2K for supply only ex factory. Look at the italian manufacture PRODOLIN.

In todays terms my view is the internet route to access UK TV would be at a lower cost and the simplest route.

User avatar
doberden
<b>Property Sales/Rental/Management</b>
Posts: 231
Location: burgas area
Contact:

Postby doberden » Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:14 am

Hi
2 small dishes will not work.
Check mansells post on page 2, vlas or not you will get sky tv.
i live near vlas and have a 1.5 dish and all works great, only need a 3.5mtr if you want to try and get bbc otherwise nearly all the other channels work.

User avatar
ardleystar
Super User!
Super User!
Posts: 1115
Location: St.Vlas

Postby ardleystar » Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:22 am

Well I live in Vlas and have no problem receiving SKY, less BBC, with my 1.5 mtr dish.
Last edited by ardleystar on Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
gordonroy43
Super User!
Super User!
Posts: 390
Location: WEST MIDLANDS
Contact:

Hi

Postby gordonroy43 » Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:08 pm

Hi,

What are the issues please feeding three small :? dishes into one from same sat, why will it not not or will it ?

User avatar
carlosmit
Not 'so' Newbie!
Not 'so' Newbie!
Posts: 40
Location: Nr Provadia

Sat dish

Postby carlosmit » Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:07 pm

I'm no expert, but in laymans terms all you will have is 3 times the same collected signal, which will be useless.

I suggest that you take a look at a specialist site such as satellitesuperstore.com whose site is packed with lots of info, prices and general advice. The equipment looks very expensive so another alternative would be to get a cooperative together, and if I have read it correctly you can feed up to 32 receivers from 1 dish/lmb. Maybe sight it somewhere else (roof, garden)

I would buy the correct equipment and get the whole package as bulsat in my opinion is deterating, for example 4 years ago both the eurosport channels were in English, now both Bulgarian and even though I can get along with the language I find it spoils the watching enjoyment without the sound.

Regards
Carl


Return to “Computers/Internet Access/Mobiles/TV/Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests