2 Stroke Machinery

Whats it like? What to expect? How does it work? Questions and answers here about 'any' aspect of....'the good life'!

Moderator: Moderator

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
greenfingers

2 Stroke Machinery

Postby greenfingers » Fri Jan 05, 2007 7:39 am

Hi All,

As most of you know I'm a landscaper/gardener.I recently had problems with my large Husqvarna brushwood cutter and took it in for service.
I was advised that it needed a new diaphragm in the carburettor and that this was caused by the quality of the petrol here in Bulgaria.They recommended that I used a mixture of 1:33 instead of 1:50 and always use premium grade of petrol.Further recommendation was not to keep any stock of petrol for too long,maximum probably only 1 week.Don't forget everybody to drain all your equipment for Winter!

Regards
Steve (greenfingers)

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
Villyman
Super User!
Super User!

Postby Villyman » Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:13 pm

Hi Steve, Sounds a bit dodgy as the plug/s would get oiled up quick.

I dont know about brushcutters, but in the UK, my 2 stroke outboard and 2 stroke power generator are harder to start and run like old tractors if the mixture isn't right. Let us know how you get on.

Willie

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
hopkin
Super User!
Super User!

Postby hopkin » Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:28 pm

An original neoprene diaphram should be resistant to pretty well any grade of fuel but they do eventually wear due to fatigue, if you increase the oil/petrol ratio all that happens is that in effect you are running not only on an oilyer mixture but also a weaker mixture, neither of which is perticularly good news for a stroker! 8)

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
greenfingers

Postby greenfingers » Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:39 am

Hi Hopkin & Villyman,

As you can imagine I operate a lot of 2 stroke machinery ranging from brushwood cutters,strimmers,chainsaws,blowers,stonecutters etc.