Growing things...

Whats it like? What to expect? How does it work? Questions and answers here about 'any' aspect of....'the good life'!

Moderator: Moderator

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
Tiarnan
Mega User!
Mega User!

Growing things...

Postby Tiarnan » Sat Dec 29, 2007 2:59 pm

Back home next week....Ye Ha.....and hoping to begin work on a small....very small....garden to try our hand at growing a few things for our own kitchen....tomatoes, onions, herbs, spices and a few other things maybe. Never grew a thing before so is there any advice we should follow....like go to Picadilly perhaps. ? :lol:
Also would it be of any use bringing a gardening book....for absolute beginners....from Ireland or would that prove useless in another climate. ?

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
scot47
Mega User!
Mega User!

Postby scot47 » Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:05 pm

A lot of it is much as back in Ireland/Britain. Potatoes, tomatoes, onions. You might need special advice on things like grapes. Get a few books AND speak to your neighbours. They are always full of advice. Usually they will all give you CONTRADICTORY advice !
Last edited by scot47 on Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
DANNIA
Mega User!
Mega User!

Postby DANNIA » Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:18 pm

Good luck with this project Tiarnan, I too will be having a go at growing stuff in Bulgarian soil.
Any tips on onions, garlic, carrots, potatoes, cucumbers and tomatoes are very welcome.

Thanks

Nikki

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
Tiarnan
Mega User!
Mega User!

Postby Tiarnan » Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:20 pm

Thanks Scot....will try to get a few books to take back. Neighbours... ? in our village they don,t give much advice. :lol:

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
Pelican
Mega User!
Mega User!

Postby Pelican » Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:26 pm

Yes best of luck with your garden.