Battery back up - central heating

Discuss here anything that does not already have its own Forum.

Moderator: Moderator

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
Jude
Super User!
Super User!

Battery back up - central heating

Postby Jude » Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:19 pm

We have a central heating system run by wood with a battery back up in the case of power failure.

Can any one tell me how long this will last if the electricity is off (looks like a normal size car battery to me) but I am no expert. Also ours have started to make a high pitched noise rather than a hum when the power has been off the last couple of times - does this mean that they need replacing.

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
Slaphead
Pig Headed

Postby Slaphead » Fri Nov 21, 2008 4:32 pm

Jude, to answer that you need to know a few other things.
What is the pump power in watts?
What is the capacity of the battery? (Ampere hours)
How much power does your invertor use to run itself?

The whine you speak of is probably the unit itself converting the battery output, 12Volt DC to the pump input voltage, 220/230/240 Volt AC.
Best suggestion i can give is ask the installer.

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
xt600
Super User!
Super User!

Postby xt600 » Fri Nov 21, 2008 5:16 pm

It's hard to calculate unless you know the exact efficiency of the UPS.

So, the only way to know for sure is to switch off the power to the UPS and time how long the central heating pump continues doing it's job before the battery runs out. As the battery runs out, most UPS's will give off a warning tone letting you know that it's about to run out. At this point, restore the power to it. Allow at least 8 hours for your battery to fully recharge and repeat the operation....this should give you a good indication in answer to your question...
Colin

Sell Overseas Property
Cash For Your Property
croxleydog
Super User!
Super User!

Postby croxleydog » Fri Nov 21, 2008 6:18 pm

Hey Jude,