Local Government - The structure of Bulgarian municipalities explained.

The rights and obligations of the local authorities are defined in the Local Self-Government and Local Administration Act.

Bulgaria's territory is divided into 28 regions and 273 municipalities: Sofia city, Sofia region, Plovdiv, Haskovo, Varna, Bourgas, Rouse, Lovetch Montana, Vidin, Vratza, Pernik, Kyustendil, Blagoevgrad, Pleven, Pazardjik, Smolyan, Kurdjali, Yambol, Gabrovo, Veliko Turnovo, Stara Zagora, Sliven, Turgovishte, Razgrad, Shoumen, Dobritch, Silistra.

The region (oblast) represents the national government on the territory of the province, and ensures correspondence between national and local interests. The Governor who rules over the region is assisted by the regional administration, and is appointed by the Council of Ministers.

The municipality is the basic administrative territorial unit in which local self-government is carried out. The citizen takes part in the government of the municipality through the bodies of local self-government, elected by them, and also directly through referenda and by general assembly of the population. The body of local self-government in the municipality is the Municipal Council, elected by the population of the respective municipality with a mandate of four years. The mayor is the executive body of the municipality. He is elected by the population or by the Municipal Council for a four-year term of office. The municipality has an independent budget and its own property, which it uses in the interest of the territorial community.